Header Image

Setup Guide: Access Block List Management

How to manage the system Access Block List. The Access Block List provides enhanced system security by prevent brute force system access.

Terms of Use

This document is provided under the terms outlined in the Integrated Business Applications End User License Agreement.

If you do not understand, accept and agree to be bound by the End User License Agreement, do not use this document or any of the procedures discussed herein.

You should read this document from beginning to end before proceeding with the procedures or steps discussed and or outlined.

Please report any errors and or omissions by e-mailing our Technical Support Team at service@ascs.ca.

Audience

This document in designed for the person who will be administering the Integrated Business Applications software. This person should be proficient in the use of computers but will not require advanced technical knowledge.

Instructions and Screenshots

The Instructions and screenshots presented within this document are based on the version of Integrated Business Applications available when the document was published.

Access Block List

The Integrated Business Applications software can be configured to automatically lockout the User Names and IP Addresses of any user that enters the wrong User Name and or Password more than a pre-set number of times.

The number of times a user can enter incorrect credentials before being locked out is configured under Security Settings, discussed in the Integrated Business Applications System Administration - Security Settings document.

To access the Access Block List, click System Setup on the Main Menu, select Access Block List from the System Setup Screen and click the Proceed Button.

Navagating the Access Block List

The Access Block List displays the User Names and IP Addresses that have been locked out of the Integrated Business Applications system (See Figure 1).
Figure 1
Figure01
The blocked User Names and IP Addresses can be filtered by various time periods by using the Filter Bar located above the Address Block List.
The filter periods available include:
  • Yesterday
  • Today
  • 7 Days
  • 14 Days
  • 28 Days
  • Full Log
The blocked User Names and IP Addresses can be sorted by Date, User Name or IP Address.

Each block entry, can be expanded by clicking the Plus (+) symbol located on the left side of the block entry.

Entries can be edited or deleted by using the Edit and Delete option located to the right of the Block Entry. Deleting the Block Entry from the list will allow that User Name and IP Address to once again gain access the Integrated Business Applications software.

Records in the Access Block List are displayed ten (10) per page by default. Record Paging can be switched on or off by clicking the Turn Paging On or Turn Paging Off links – located at the bottom left corner of the Entries List.

Manually Adding an Access Block List Entry

The User Name of an individual user or the IP Address of a specific computer can be manually added to the Access Block List if necessary. This is accomplished by clicking the Add User Name/IP link on the menu – located above the Access Block List (See Figure 2).
Figure 2
Figure02
After Clicking the Add User Name/IP menu option, the Access Block List Add screen will open (See Figure 3).
Figure 3
Figure03
Simply enter the User Name and or IP Address of the user and or computer you wish to block from the Integrated Business Applications software and then click the Save Button. The new User Name and IP Address will appear in the Access Block List.
NOTE:

If you wish to block just a specific User Name, simply enter the User Name and 0.0.0.0 for the IP Address.

If you wish to block a specific IP Address, simply enter the IP Address and then enter descriptive label in the User Name field. This could be “Blocking IP xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx Only”, as an example.

Purging the Access Block List

Use the Purge List option located on the menu above the Address Block List to remove all entries from the list (See Figure 4).
Figure 4
Figure04
You will receive a confirmation screen as illustrated in the image below (See Figure 5).
Figure 5
Figure05
Click Purge to confirm the pending action. All User Names and IP Addresses will be removed from the list.
NOTE:

There is no undo action available for the purging of all entries. Be sure you wish to remove the entries before confirming the action.
Additional Information
Please use this link to reach out to us; we are always happy to answer your questions.
 
© Integrated Business Applications
All Rights Reserved
End User
License Agreement (EULA)
Website
Terms of Use
© Integrated Business Applications
All Rights Reserved




End User
License Agreement (EULA)




Website
Terms of Use